Saturday, January 21, 2012

Pune International Film festival 2012 Award Winners

Umesh Kulkarni ‘s Deool bags two awards!

Best Marathi Film - cash prize Rupees 25,000

Best Cinematographer for Sudhakar Reddy - cash prize Rupees 25,000

Two Indian films win Audience Awards:

In International Section: Somnath Gupta’s Ami Aad (Bengali)
In Marathi Competition: Sujay S. Dahake’s Shala (which also won Special Jury Award )

Complete list of awards follows:

Marathi Competition

Best Marathi Film: Ha Bharat Maza (India is My Country) directed by Sumitra Bhave & Sunil Sukthankar - Rupees 5,00,000.

Best Marathi Film Director - Rupees 25,000: Umesh Kulkarni for the film Deool.

Best Marathi Film Actor: shared by Subodh Bhave for the film Balgandharva and Uttara Baokar for the film Ha Bharat Maza plus cash prize Rupees 25,000

Best Marathi Screen Play plus cash prize of Rupees 25,000: Abhiram Bhadkamkar for the film Balgandharva.

Best cinematographer plus cash prize of Rupees 25,000: Sudhakar Reddy for Deool.

Special Jury Award to the producers Vivek Wagh and Nilesh Navalakha of Shala

Special Mention of commendation for three young actors

· Anshuman Joshi for the film Shala

· Chinmay Sant for the film Jana Gana Mana

· Subham More for the film Up Side down

World Cinema Competition

Best Film: If Not Us, Who? ( Germany) directed by Andres Veiel. Cash Prize of. Rupees 10,00,000 shared by director and producer Thomas Kufus

Best International Film Director: Asghar Farhadi (Iran) for A Separation -
Cash prize of. Rupees 5,00,000

Special Jury award: Sparrow (Russia) directed by Yuri Shiller

Whistling Woods International Student Film Awards

Best Animation – Indian To Nandita Jain for the film ‘Kahanikar’

Audiographer Award (Indian) to Nikhil Mulay for the film ‘Shankarnama’ (FTII)

Cinematographer Award (Indian) to Sylvester Fonseca (FTII) for ‘Open CafĂ© V 2.5

Best Script: for Francisco Valle R (Centro di Capacitation Cinematografica, Mexico)

Best Director (International) to Aarambh Singh for film ‘Rosebed’(Whistling Wood International)
Best Film – NISA (Univesity of California, Los Angeles)

PIFF – Best Student of the Year (Direction) cash award: Rupees 25000: Ms. Renu Sawant, final year student of Direction, Film and Television Institute of India.